

"Marching Towards an Inclusive Future: Seismic Shifts in Tennessee Communities"

Friday, February 9, 2024

Tennessee State University, Avon Williams Campus

8:30AM	Registration begins
9:00AM	Opening Remarks Tim Walker, Metropolitan Historical Commission Freddie O'Connell, Mayor of Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County Linda T. Wynn, conference co-chair, Tennessee Historical Commission
9:25AM	Mapping the Destruction of Tennessee's African American Neighborhoods, Zachary Keith, Knox County Archives
9:50AM	The Explosive Beginning of School Desegregation, Dr. Rachel Martin, writer and historian
10:15AM	BREAK
10:45AM	Integrating The Airwaves, Paula Blackman Iacampo, Harper Collins Publishers
11:10AM	Meharry Medical College and the Nashville Civil Rights Movement, Sandra Parham, Meharry Medical College Library and Archives
11:35AM	Performance #1: Songs of the Movement, Deni E. Lowe
12:00PM	LUNCH
1:30PM	Remarks, Dr. Samantha Morgan-Curtis, Dean of Tennessee State University's College of Liberal Arts
1:35PM	Nashville's Civil Rights Movement Landmarks, 1942-1969, Robbie D. Jones, Richard Grubb and Associates
2:00PM	The Civil Rights Room: 20 Years of Sharing Nashville's Story with the World, Elliott Robinson, Nashville Public Library Special Collections Division
2:25PM	Strong Inside: Lessons Learned from Sports Hero Perry Wallace, Linda Wynn, Andrew Maraniss, Joseph Herbert, and Gerold Oliver
2:50PM	Then and Now: The History of Minority Communities in Nashville, A Vanderbilt University project in collaboration with the Nashville Public Library, Dr. André Churchwell, Vanderbilt University
3:15PM	Closing remarks, Dr. Learotha Williams, Jr., conference co-chair, Tennessee State University

FINANCIAL SUPPORTERS

FRIERSON FOUNDATION METRO HISTORICAL COMMISSION FOUNDATION SPRUCE STREET BAPTIST CHURCH TENNESSEE HISTORICAL SOCIETY TSU FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY

PLANNING COMMITTEE

Co-Founder & Co-Chair Linda T. Wynn, Tennessee Historical Commission/formerly with Fisk University

Department of History and Political Science

Co-Chair Dr. Learotha Williams, Jr., Tennessee State University

Dr. Joel Dark, Tennessee State University

Caroline Eller, Metropolitan Historical Commission

Dr. Elizabeth Johnson, Tennessee State University

Gloria McKissack, Tennessee State University (ret.)

Fletcher Moon, Tennessee State University (ret.)

Jamaal B. Sheats, Fisk University

Sharon Hull Smith, Tennessee State University

W. Tim Walker, Executive Director, Metropolitan Historical Commission